Our Board

Chairperson Yosuke Kaneko

Chairperson Yosuke Kaneko is a member of JAXA (the Japanese Space Agency).
He is passionate about the future of IPN and is thrilled to lead the IPNSIG.

Brief background for Kaneko:
2002 to 2016: ISS/JEM (Japanese Experiment Module) Project, Communication and Avionics engineer, Flight Director for JEM*

  • Japanese Experimental Module (Kibo) on the ISS. Currently, a wide variety of scientific, medical, and educational experiments are conducted on JEM. As a part of the ISS, JEM provides extensive opportunities for space environment utilization
    2017 to 2019: ISS Program, Exploration Programs (Gateway, Moon, Mars), Japanese Representative for ICSIS (International Communication System Interoperability Standards)
    2020: JAXA Headquarters, Strategic Planning Division
    Kaneko has been heavily engaged in Space Agency business up to date, but recently came to realize the importance of bringing many of disparate initiatives including Government, Space Agencies, CCSDS, IETF/IRTF, Commercial Space Sector and Private Service Providers and more, in a single venue, to discuss their needs, requirements, and the driving technology to be developed that constitute a sustainable IPN architecture. He believes IPNSIG can play a key role in moving in that direction.

Scott C. Burleigh (Vice Chair)

Scott Burleigh recently retired from a position as Principal Engineer at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, where he had been developing flight mission software since 1986. A founding member of the Delay-Tolerant Networking (DTN) Research Group of the Internet Research Task Force, Mr. Burleigh was a co-author of the DTN Architecture definition (Internet RFC 4838). He also co-authored the specification for version 6 of the DTN Bundle Protocol (BP, Internet RFC 5050), supporting automated data forwarding through a network of intermittently connected nodes, and is now lead author for the specification for BP version 7. Mr. Burleigh led the development and maintenance of implementations of BP and related protocols that are designed for integration into deep space mission flight software, with the long-term goal of enabling deployment of a delay-tolerant Solar System Internet. Mr. Burleigh has received the NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal and four NASA Space Act Board Awards for his work on the design and implementation of these communication protocols.

Mike Snell (Secretary/Treasurer)

Although he freely admits to being a Liberal Arts major gone bad, Mike Snell has spent over twenty years in various IT management and leadership positions at Cisco Systems and consulting/contracting firms. His technical interests include cybersecurity and technical business process change engineering.
Back in late 2011, Mike and his colleague, Konstantin Kalaitzidis, proposed to the board of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter of the Internet Society that they launch a project to revitalize the inactive InterPlanetary Networking Special Interest Group (IPNSIG). Mike has served as Secretary/Treasurer and as Chair. Mike also served on the board of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter of the Internet Society.

Vinton G. Cerf (Board Member)

Vint is Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist
with Google

At Google, Vint Cerf contributes to global policy and business development and continued spread of the Internet. Widely known as one of the “Fathers of the Internet,” Cerf is the co-designer of the TCP/IP protocols and the architecture of the Internet. He has served in executive positions at the Internet Society, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, the American Registry for Internet Numbers, MCI, the Corporation for National Research Initiatives and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency and on the faculty of Stanford University. Vint Cerf sat on the US National Science Board and is a Visiting Scientist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Cerf is a Foreign Member of the Royal Society and Swedish Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the IEEE, ACM, American Association for the advancement of Science, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, British Computer Society, Worshipful Companies of Information Technologists and Stationers and is a member of the National Academies of Engineering and Science. Cerf is a recipient of numerous awards and commendations in connection with his work on the Internet, including the US Presidential Medal of Freedom, US National Medal of Technology, the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, the Prince of Asturias Award, the Japan Prize, the Charles Stark Draper award, the ACM Turing Award, the Legion d’Honneur and 29 honorary degrees.

Oscar Garcia (Board Member)

Oscar Garcia presented the first Medical Record System for Space Exploration during STINT 2020. He has received the Award of the World Summit on the Information Society in Digital Health for Argentina in 2005. Mr. Garcia has been in computer programming and information systems technologies since 1983. As member of Cabase, the Internet Chamber of Argentina, he was the local host of ICANN in Mar del Plata, Argentina. He has been lecturer for public and privates institutions over the years. He has been appointed to participate in State Missions of Argentina for Information Technology. Mr. Garcia is chairman in Sister Cities Mar del Plata and has also been a Karate teacher for 25 years. Mr. Garcia has Argentine and Spanish citizenships adding to the global scope of IPNSIG

Dr. Alberto Montilla (Board Member)

Alberto is a product executive and a space enthusiast. He is a Founding Board Member of SPATIAM CORPORATION, a business with the mission of creating the interplanetary Internet.
An IPNSIG member since 2014, Alberto accumulates extensive experience in building new businesses around technology and products. He led product management at Cisco for 15 years and currently works as Director of Product Management at Twilio, the leading Cloud Communications Platform.
Alberto holds a Doctor of Networking Engineering degree from the Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, and an MBA from the Instituto de Estudios Bursátiles. He is a technology advisor of early-stage startups and in his personal time, he enjoys family and friends, sports and technology.

Keith Scott (Board Member)
Dr. Keith Scott worked for NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory from 1997-1998, where he used ACTS mobile terminal data to characterize the effects of Ka-band satellite channels on TCP and SCPS-TP performance. Since joining The MITRE Corporation in 1998, Keith has worked on a number of projects for NASA and the DoD concerning communications in stressed environments including satellite and tactical data networks. He began working on the Interplanetary Internet in 1998, implemented a precursor to the current Bundle Protocol, and is co-author of RFC5050. Keith currently serves as chair of the Space Internetworking Systems Delay Tolerant Networking Working Group in the Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems that is standardizing DTN protocols for use in civilian space missions. Keith is also a member of the Internet Research Task Force and Internet Engineering Task Force’s Delay Tolerant Networking working groups.